LIFE MEMBERSHIP & HALL OF FAME

The following policy was agreed by the Board on the 20th September, 2006.

LIFE MEMBERSHIP

Background

In the 1980's the Board of Gippsland FM expressed a desire to recognise volunteers who had given extraordinary service to the station. It was noted that the annual program awards was one means of doing this and the Programmer of Year was subsequently bestowed upon presenters who had also undertaken service in addition to their program. In addition, various commitment awards were also presented over the years to recognise similar support – which included non-presenters. However, the Board felt that a higher award was deemed necessary for those who delivered a sustained commitment over more than just a year or two. It was therefore agreed to adopt life membership as a means of making a lasting recognition of such service to the station.

The criteria for life membership was confirmed as follows:

- 1. The nominee has delivered distinguished service to the station,
- 2. Such service needs to be enduring (over a long period) or truly significant,
- 3. If the nominee is a station presenter, the service being recognised needs to include a contribution in addition to program presentation, and
- 4. The nominee needs to be widely respected and be seen as a good ambassador for the station.

Those who have been awarded life membership to date are as follows:

- 1978 Brian Butler (presenter, Chairperson)
- 1979 John Pace (deceased) (presenter, director)
- 1980 Ken Thompson (presenter, director)
- 1981 Paul Strickland (presenter, director, commitment to sector)
- 1982 Murray Holm (presenter, director)
- 1983 Richard Palmer (director)
- 1984 Keith Prestidge (presenter, director)
- 1990 Neil Little (presenter, director)
- 1991 Neil Hanley (deceased) (director)
- 1993 Mrs Parry (presenter)
- 1995 George Andreou (presenter)
- 1996 Barbara Mildenhall (nee Twining) (presenter, director)
- 1997 Randall Green (presenter)
- 2007 Shane Elson (presenter, director, commitment to sector)
- 2010 John Holland (presenter, officer)

The process for awarding life membership is as follows:

- 1. The Board of Directors make a recommendation to the annual general meeting of the station,
- 2. Only one nomination can be made each year, and
- 3. The shares of any life member are to be retained in the name of the member (irrespective of whether or not any annual subscriptions are paid),

4. Life members are afforded all the benefits of full membership including voting rights, notices, newsletters and program guides until their passing.

HALL OF FAME

Background

Given that life membership is limited in its application, i.e. only one person can be awarded each year, and the infrequent awarding of Programmer of Year (which in itself only recognises broadcasters), it was resolved by the Board that another form of recognition is required to acknowledge a number of volunteers have made a long standing commitment to broadcasting on Gippsland FM. The additional award system is the Hall of Fame outlined as follows.

The criteria for the Gippsland FM Hall of Fame is to be as follows:

- 1. The nominee has completed ten years of service to the station,
- 2. If the nominee is a presenter, such service has included activities other than broadcasting or the contribution to broadcasting has been important,
- 3. If the nominee is a non-presenter, such service is recognised as a contribution to station development, and
- 4. The nominee has earned the respect of their peers at the station.

The process for establishing Hall of Fame inductees is to be as follows:

- 1. The nominations to the Hall of Fame would be determined by the Board of Directors once each calendar year,
- 2. There is no limit on the number of nominations made each year as long as the criteria have been met, and
- 3. Some form of recognition (ceremony and on-going honour Board) is to be be made for all inductees.

Based on these criteria – the Board agreed that retrospective inclusions to the Hall of Fame would comprise the following people.

A.Abrahams, G.Andreou, K.Beck, I.Boyd, J.Canovan, G.Cornelis, P.Dalton, C.Devers, R.Elkington, S.Elson, J.Eshuys, A.Fievez, G.Forte, C.Gray, A.Hanley, G.Hansford, T.Heineman, M.Holka, I.Jacobs, J.Koedyk, R.Koss, A.Laidlaw, M.Lam, H.Leutjens, N.Little, B.Mildenhall (nee Twining), D.Minster, R.Molinari, L.Nania, E.Parry, M.Potter, K.Prestidge, G.Roberts, M.Sammut, P.Schulz, P.Strickland, P.Thain, K.Thompson, D.Tripodi, E.Vermeulen, D.White, L.Williams, B.Wright.